List Of Private Universities Of Bangladesh

April 05, 2015 | Category: Institution Lists | Posted By - Admin | 2 Comments

Private universities

Establishment of private university in Bangladesh initiated after the institution of the Private University Act 1992. As of 2008, 54 such universities are operational in five out of six division of the country. Barisal is the only division of Bangladesh without having any private university.

Chittagong division

Following are the six private universities located in Chittagong division. All six have main campuses in Chittagong city. One has its urban campus in Kumira, outside the main city. Five are general purpose universities, while one is specialized in technology.


Begum Gulchemonara Trust University BGTU 2002 Chittagong General
East Delta University EDU 2006 Chittagong General
International Islamic University, Chittagong IIUC 1995 Chittagong General
Premier University, Chittagong PU 2002 Chittagong General
Southern University, Bangladesh SUB 2001 Chittagong General
University of Science & Technology Chittagong USTC 1989 Chittagong Technology


Dhaka division

Following are the 45 private universities located in Dhaka division. All are in Dhaka city, capital of the country and most are in Gulshan Thana, Dhanmondi Thana and Uttara Thana. All but three are general purpose universities. Two specializes in technology, while one specializes in women's studies.


Ahsanullah University of Science and Technology AUST 1995 Dhaka Technology
American International University-Bangladesh AIUB 1994 Dhaka General
Asian University of Bangladesh AUB 1996 Dhaka General
Asa University Bangladesh ASAUB 2006 Dhaka General
Atish Dipankar University of Science and Technology ADUST 2004 Dhaka Technology
Bangladesh Islami University BIU Dhaka General
Bangladesh University BU 2001 Dhaka General
Bangladesh University of Business and Technology BUBT 2003 Dhaka Technology
BRAC University BRACU 2001 Dhaka General
Central Women's University CWU 1993 Dhaka Women's Study
City University, Bangladesh CUB 2002 Dhaka General
Daffodil International University DIU 2002 Dhaka General
Darul Ihsan University DIU 1989 Dhaka General
Dhaka International University DIntU 1995 Dhaka General
Eastern University, Bangladesh EU 2003 Dhaka General
East West University EWU 1996 Dhaka General
Gono Bishwabidyalay GB 1996 Dhaka General
Green University of Bangladesh GUB 2002 Dhaka General
IBAIS University IU 2002 Dhaka General
Independent University, Bangladesh IUB 1993 Dhaka General
International University of Business Agriculture and Technology IUBAT 1991 Dhaka General
Manarat International University MIU 2001 Dhaka General
Millennium University MU 2003 Dhaka General
Northern University, Bangladesh NUB 2002 Dhaka General
North South University NSU 1992 Dhaka General
People's University of Bangladesh PUB 1996 Dhaka General
Presidency University PU 2003 Dhaka General
Prime University PU 2002 Dhaka General
Primeasia University PAU 2003 Dhaka General
Queens University QU 1996 Dhaka General
Royal University of Dhaka RUD 2003 Dhaka General
Shanto Mariam University of Creative Technology SMUCT 2003 Dhaka General
Southeast University SEU 2002 Dhaka General
Stamford University Bangladesh SU 2002 Dhaka General
State University of Bangladesh SUB 2002 Dhaka General
United International University UIU 2003 Dhaka General
University of Asia Pacific (Bangladesh) UAP 1996 Dhaka General
University of Development Alternative UODA 2002 Dhaka General
University of Information Technology and Sciences UITS 2003 Dhaka General
University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh ULAB 2004 Dhaka General
University of South Asia, Bangladesh USAB 2003 Dhaka General
Uttara University UU 2003 Dhaka General
Victoria University of Bangladesh VUB 2003 Dhaka General
World University of Bangladesh WUB 2003 Dhaka General


Rajshahi division

Following is the only private university located in Rajshahi division. It is a specialized university with its campus in Bogra.


Pundra University of Science and Technology PUST 2001 Bogra Technology


Sylhet division

Following are the three private universities located in Sylhet division. All three has main campuses in Sylhet town.

Leading University LU 2002 Sylhet General
Metropolitan University MU 2003 Sylhet General
Sylhet International University SIU 2001 Sylhet General


International universities

There are only two international universities in Bangladesh. These universities are neither managed and funded by the government, like public universities, nor established under the Private University Act and managed by a private governing body, like private universities. One is established by Organisation of the Islamic Conference and located in Gazipur, Dhaka division while another is located in Chittagong division and funded by Asian University for Women Support Foundation (AUWSF), a United States based non-profit corporation.


Asian University for Women AUW 2008 Chittagong Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences,Natural Sciences and Information and Communications Technology.
Islamic University of Technology IUT 1981 Gazipur Engineering and Technology


How People found this article:

List Of Private University Bangladeshi University Private University University List University Ranking Private Universities

Leave a Reply